Friday, May 11, 2012

Album covers by Artists: Raymond Pettibon

Yesterday Pitchfork ran a review of the debut LP for the hardcore 'supergroup' OFF!, which features a cover design by artist Raymond Pettibon. Prior to the LP the group has released four EPs (individually, and later packaged together), all of which featured graphics by Pettibon, making it his most consistent collaboration with a band since Black Flag debuted in the late seventies (Pettibon, whose brother was the guitarist, named the group, designed their logo and his drawings were featured on most of their releases). OFF! singer Keith Morris was the original frontman of Black Flag, but left the band in 1979 (to be eventually replaced by Henry Rollins) and formed The Circle Jerks, who Pettibon also did graphic work for. His other credits include Goo by Sonic Youth and One by One by the Foofighters.

Read the review, here:

No comments:

Post a Comment