Friday, March 2, 2012

Yoko Ono wins top Austrian art prize

BBC news reports that Yoko Ono has won the Oskar Kokoschka prize, one of Austria's most important awards for contemporary art.

The jury honoured Ono as “an exceptional artistic personality who is not only one of the most important members of the Fluxus movement but also of the utmost topicality given, in particular, her transdisciplinary approach in artistic production. Her multimedia artistic work, which is connected by an ideology-critical red thread, ranges from film to experimental music, concept art to performance. In her work, Yoko Ono links the pursuit of artistic innovation with the assertion of art’s efficacy in society, which is convincingly evidenced in her political engagement for peace and human rights.”

Recent winners of the biannual prize include Raymond Pettibon (2010), William Kentridge (2008) and Martha Rosler (2006), with previous recipients including Gunter Brus, Valie Export, John Baldessari, Jannis Kounellis, Agnes Martin, Gerhard Richter and Mario Merz.

No comments:

Post a Comment