Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Yoko Ono | Yes, I'm a Witch Too

February 19th has just been announced as the release date for Yoko Ono's Yes, I'm a Witch Too, a day after the artist's 83rd birthday. The disc is a sequel to 2007's Yes I'm A Witch, which also featured Ono remixed and covered by others (Peaches, Le Tigre, The Flaming Lips, Cat Power, etc.).

The new record will feature Death Cab for Cutie, tUnE-yArDs, Sparks, Cibo Matto and an eclectic list of others (Jack Douglas, the producer of Double Fantasy??). Cibo Matto appeared on Ono's first remix project Rising Remixes from 1996, which also included reworked songs by Ween, Tricky, Thurston Moore, and The Beastie Boys. They are signed to Ono's label Chimera and Ono's son Sean Lennon was once a member of the band.

Sean Lennon will contribute "Dogtown", a song originally from the 1974 unreleased record A Story, which also included the song Yes, I'm A Witch, which the remix disks are named after. A Story was eventually released in 1992 as part of Onobox, and some songs were reworked on other albums. "Dogtown" also appeared on Season of Glass (1981).

Full track listing:

Death Cab for Cutie - "Forgive Me My Love"
Peter, Bjorn and John - "Mrs. Lennon"
Jack Douglas - "Move on Fast"
Sparks - "Give Me Something"
Penguin Prison - "She Gets Down on Her Knees"
Portugal the Man - "Soul Got Out of the Box"
Sean Lennon - "Dogtown"
Tune-Yards - "Warrior Woman"
Miike Snow - "Catman"
Cibo Matto - "Yes, I'm Your Angel"
Dave Audé - "Wouldnit"
John Palumbo - "I Have a Woman Inside My Soul"
Ebony Bones - "No Bed for Beatle John"
Automatique - "Coffin Car"
Danny Tenaglia - "Walking on Thin Ice"
Blow Up - "Approximately Infinite Universe"

No comments:

Post a Comment