Thursday, July 19, 2012

Doug Aitken Wins 2012 Nam June Paik Art Center Prize

The Nam June Paik Art Center announced today that Doug Aitken has been selected as the solo recipient of the 2012 Nam June Paik Art Center Prize. The press release praised "Aitken’s enthusiastic pursuit of experimentalism and interdisciplinary collaboration" and said his work "open up a world where time, space, and memory are fluid concepts".

The Nam June Paik Center (seen below) established the prize in 2009, with the aim to acknowledge "artists who, like Paik, have opened up new horizons and had a tremendous impact in the field of art through their relentlessly experimental attitudes and ground breaking works." In the first year four artists were given the prize: Seung-Taek Lee, Eun-Me Ahn, Ceal Floyer, and Robert Adrian X. Bruno Latour, an academic, was the recipient of the 2010 prize. There doesn't seem to have been a 2011 prize, and as of this year the prize has been restructured to focus strictly on artists.

The ceremony will be held at Nam June Paik Art Center at 5pm tomorrow (July 20, 2012), in celebration of the eightieth anniversary of Paik’s birth. Aitken will be presented with the cash award and invited to hold a solo exhibition at the space in the second half of 2013.

Above: the Centre's library and multi-media archive.

No comments:

Post a Comment