Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Yoko Ono | Snow Falling at Dawn

Yoko Ono
Snow Falling at Dawn
New York City, USA, self-published, 1965
Edition size unknown

A small tin holds a section of looped audio tape containing the sound of snow falling at dawn. The work can be seen as a realization of one of the texts from Ono's book Grapefruit, first published the year prior. Tape Piece III, or Snow Piece, which is dated as being from the fall of 1963, reads:

Take a tape of the sound of the snow falling. This should be done in the evening. Do not listen to the tape. Cut it and use it as strings to tie gifts with.

In 1965, Ono offered Snow Falling at Dawn, alongside other works, for purchase on Yoko Ono’s Sales List for the price of 25 cents per inch. Other snow recordings included the Snow of India, Snow of Kyo, and Snow of Aos.

No comments:

Post a Comment