Monday, August 6, 2012

Artist Book Awards

Today Printed Matter announced the winners of their 4th annual Awards For Artists. The prize, designed to provide artists working with books with financial support and recognition, is adjudicated through a peer group process, and then the finalists through a jury of three artists including AA Bronson, Chrysanne Stathacos and David Horvitz. Five winners were selected and each received a $2000 prize:

Agnes Prammer
Christopher Schulz
Micki Watanabe Spiller
Beriah Wall
Ofer Wolberger

For more information, visit Printed Matter's news page, here.

The Art Gallery of York University will announce the winner of their Artist Book of the Moment Award in early September, but the jury (consisting of myself and Corinn Gerber, the director of Art Metropole) met last week to sort through several boxes of submitted books. The short list (admittedly a misnomer here) is as follows;

Liz Knox
Maggie Groat
Elizabeth Tonnard (twice)
Juan Oritz-Apuy
Sylvia Matas
Micah Lexier
JP King
Bill Burns
Emmanuelle Jacques
Shawn Records
Nicolas Muellner
Jimmy Limit
Coryn Kempster
David Kennedy Cutler

The full list, with titles, is available here.

No comments:

Post a Comment