Sunday, April 5, 2015

Hito Steyerl Wins Inaugural EYE Prize

From Artforum:

"Hito Steyerl has won the first edition of the EYE Prize for artists working in film, reports Hannah Ghorashi at Artnews. The $37,100 prize was established by the EYE Film Institute Netherlands to support artists who work primarily in the medium of film. Steyerl will be presented with the award today in Amsterdam at the EYE Gala.

The 2015 EYE jury consisted of director and artist Chantal Akerman; MoMA’s chief curator for media and performance art, Stuart Comer; EYE CEO Sandra den Hamer; artist and director Isaac Julien; advisor, and art collector Martijn Sanders; producer and screenwriter Olivia Stewart; and screenwriter and director Béla Tarr.

A retrospective of Steyerl’s work is currently on view at Artists Space in New York and she will also be included in a group show at the German Pavilion for the 2015 Venice Biennale."

No comments:

Post a Comment